Storage FAQ

Why do I need storage?

You need storage to host the files that are uploaded to the briefs you create.
Indeed, for every question, your collaborators or yourself can upload files. If you created the brief, you are the “brief owner” and these files are stored onto your storage space.

 

 

Where are the brief attachments stored?

The files attached to the questions of a brief are uploaded onto the storage account of the brief owner, who is the user who created the brief.

 

 

How much storage do I have?

The free Volve storage is just 50MB. Most users connect their Dropbox or Google Drive account. When they do so, they have as much storage as is available on their external storage account.

 

 

How do I save storage space?

You can delete files from the briefs. You can also delete briefs entirely, which will by the way delete all the attached files.
Keep in mind that your storage is only used for the briefs you created. Deleting files from briefs that you haven’t created – even if you uploaded these files – won’t affect your storage capacity.
If you delete files or briefs, always do it in Volve. Don’t delete files from Dropbox or Google Drive directly.

 

 

Can I connect an external storage account?

Yes, you can connect your Dropbox or Google Drive account, which will expand your capacity to host attachments to the briefs you create.
Once connected, you can use as much space as available on this external storage account.

 

 

Can I edit the “Volve” folder in my Dropbox / Google Drive account?

No, you should really not do that.

When you connect your external storage account, we create a folder to host the attachments of your briefs. In Google Drive it’s a “Volve” folder at the root. In Dropbox it’s an “Apps” folder with a “Volve” folder inside.

If you rename, move or delete these folders or the content inside, the attachments in your briefs won’t be working any more.

 

If you have done it already, try to put them back as they were originally.

Worse case scenario, you can go to the Storage page of My account in Volve and disconnect your external storage account. You will lose all the attachments that you had in your briefs. But you will be able to attach files again.

 

 

Can I delete files attached to a brief?

Yes, if you have “FILL” rights on a brief, you can delete files attached to the questions.
If you are the brief owner, you can also delete a brief entirely, which will delete all the attached files by the way.
If you delete files or briefs, always do it in Volve. Don’t delete files from Dropbox or Google Drive directly.

 

 

Why do I get “not found” when I open an attached file?

An attachment is “not found” when the file has been renamed, moved or deleted from the Dropbox or Google Drive account that was storing it.

All the attachments of a brief are hosted by the brief owner. This user – who is the person who created the brief – has probably connected her Dropbox or Google Drive account and mistakenly renamed, moved or deleted the “Volve” folder or its content. This is why the file cannot be found any more.

 

 

Can I disconnect my Dropbox / Google Drive?

Yes, you can disconnect your external storage account at any time.
In Volve, on the Storage page of My account you will find a “Disconnect” button to do that, if you currently have an external storage account connected.

Just make sure that you have enough space on the free Volve storage to host the brief attachments that are currently hosted on your external storage account. The free Volve storage is 50MB only.
When you click “Disconnect”, a window will tell you if you don’t have enough space.

Would you not have enough space, you can still disconnect your external storage account. The files that fit on the free Volve storage will be transferred. But the files that doesn’t fit will be lost forever.
As the files are transferred from the most recent ones to the oldest ones, it is the oldest attachments that will be lost.

 

 

Can I change the external storage account I’m using?

Yes, you can switch from one external storage account to another.
In Volve, on the Storage page of My profile you will find a “Change” button to do that, if you currently have an external storage account connected.

Just make sure that you have enough space on the new external storage account to host the brief attachments that you are currently hosting.
When you click “Change”, a window will tell you if you don’t have enough space.

Would you not have enough space, you can still change your account. The files that fit on the new account will be transferred. But the files that doesn’t fit will be lost forever.
As the files are transferred from the most recent ones to the oldest ones, it is the oldest attachments that will be lost.

Subscribe to our newsletter and receive monthly updates.